81th Anniversary of P.D.M.P. and Scholarships Awarding

81th Maha-Sabha Anniversary of P.D.M.P. (Prisons Department Mutual Provident Fund) was held on 04/01/2020 under the patronage of the Commissioner General of Prisons, Mr. T.M.J.W. Thennakoon and with the participation of the Hon. Chairman of the P.D.M.P., Mr. J.M.P. Liyanage, Board of Directors as well as prison officers at the Center for Research and Training in Correction.

Rs. 600,000.00 worth scholarships, including Rs. 25,000.00 per one students was awarded to 24 children of prison officers who got opportunities to enter university through A/L results. Further, the Commissioner of Prisons, Mr. Thushara Upuldeniya was elected as the new chairman of PDPM at the election of office bearers.