Passing out Ceremony of recruit Prison Guards who were selected to vacancies existed at the Department of Prisons, took place at 10 A.M. on 28.12.2022 under the patronage of the Hon.Minister of Justice, Prison Affairs  and  Constitutional Reforms, President’s  Attorney, Dr.Wijedasa Rajapaksha and Hon. State Minister of Prison Affairs, Attorney, Mr.Anuradha Jayarathna. 

Total number of 191 officers including 172 male officers and 19 female officers passed out and talented officers were awarded by the minister. 

Accordingly, best officer of the batch, Prison Guard, D.M.L. Sandaruwan Dissanayaka, best shooter, Silva, best athlete, D,J,Warnasuriya, best male drill instructor, D.H.A.Gunawardana, best female drill instructor, W.A.Pavarnam Shamini, all rounder. 

D.M.L. Sandaruwan Dissanayaka as the best officer of the batch, Silva as the best shooter, D,J,Warnasuriya as the best athlete,  D.H.A.Gunawardana as the best male drill instructor,  W.A.Pavarna Shamini as the best female drill instructor and D.A.Kalpradeep as the all rounder of the batch were awarded at the ceremony. 

Present at the ceremony were the Secretary to the Ministry, Mrs.Wasantha Perera, the Commissioner General of Prisons, Mr.Thushara Upuldeniya, Additional Commissioner General of Prisons, Mr,Chandana Ekanayaka, Commissioner of Prisons (Operation and Intelligence), Mr.T.I.Uduwara, Commissioner of Prisons (Supply and Services)  Mr.K.A.S.Kodithuwakku, Commissioner of Prisons (Rehabilitation), Mr.Malin Liyanage, Director – Training, Mr. Prasad Hemantha, several officers from the Department of Police and Department of Prisons and relatives of recruits.