Commemoration of the 118th Sri Lanka Prison Day for the commencement of the Department of Prisons  as a independent department on 16 July 1905 and memorial service to remember 15 fallen Prison Officers  who sacrificed their lives while on active duty, took place under the patronage of the Commissioner General of Prisons, Mr.Thushara Upuldeniya on 4 P.M. on 20.07.2023 at the Prison Officers Memorial in  front of the Welikada Prison.

Prison Parade honoured fallen heroes and the Commissioner General of Prisons and some senior Prison Officials and family relatives paid tribute by placing flowers near memorial. The Commissioner General of Prisons awarded prizes to children of the deceased prison officers and well wished.  Subsequently, a tea party has been organized to all who came to the ceremony.

Commissioner of Prisons (Operation), Mr.T.I.Uduwara,  Commissioner of Prisons (Supply), Mr. K.A.S. Kodithuwakku, Commissioner of Finance, Mr.Anuradha Rajasinghe, Director of Planning, Mrs.N.Suranji Wijewardana,  Director of Engineering, Mr. Prasad Indika, Director -Prison Medical Services, Dr. Hemantha Ranasinghe, Private Secretary of the  Minister of Justice,  Prison Affairs and Constitutional Reforms, Mr. Syril Gamage,  Superintendent of Prison Headquarters,  Mr. Gamini B. Dissanayake and many senior officers of  department participated to the occasion.